7 February 2014

Christian Concern-Action Alert: Help secure opposition to child euthanasia in the Council of Europe:

Dear Supporters,
In a key demonstration of cross-continent alarm at Belgium's move to permit the euthanasia of children, parliamentarians from across Europe have laid down
a motion at the Council of Europe - which is best known for its focus on human rights - opposing the change in the country's law.

The motion, written declaration no. 567, is entitled 'Legalisation of euthanasia for children in Belgium'.

We fully endorse the parliamentarians' view that the move "betrays some of the most vulnerable children in Belgium by accepting that their lives may no longer have any inherent value or worth and that they should die... [and] promotes the unacceptable belief that a life can be unworthy of life which challenges the very basis of civilised society.

36 British MPs and Peers are members of the assembly, and we ask you to write to these - especially if you are a constituent or party member - to:

  • thank those who have already signed the declaration, and urge them to give the issue greater visibility in the UK; and to
  • ask non-signatories to sign as soon as possible, explaining why this latest alarming development in the already woeful situation surrounding Belgium's euthanasia laws is a matter of grave concern for all of Europe.
Please write now by using the e-mail addresses listed beneath (for more information on the proposed changes see: hereherehere and here).

Please also sign the petition by CitizenGo calling on politicians to abandon the proposals and to work on new Belgian laws that are in favour of life and long term care for vulnerable people.

Thank you. The seven current signatories are:

James CLAPPISON MP (Hertsmere), james.clappison.mp@parliament.uk
David DAVIES MP (Monmouth), david.davies.mp@parliament.uk
Sir Edward LEIGH MP (Gainsborough), edward.leigh.mp@parliament.uk

Democratic Unionist
Jeffrey DONALDSON MP (Lagan Valley), jeffrey.donaldson.mp@parliament.uk

Joe BENTON MP (Bootle), joe.benton.mp@parliament.uk
David CRAUSBY MP (Bolton North East), david.crausby.mp@parliament.uk
Sir Alan MEALE MP (Mansfield), alan.meale.mp@parliament.uk

The twenty-nine non-signatories are:

Brian BINLEY MP (Northampton South), brian.binley.mp@parliament.uk
Christopher CHOPE MP (Christchurch), christopher.chope.mp@parliament.uk
Jonathan EVANS MP (Cardiff North), jonathan.evans.mp@parliament.uk
Sir Roger GALE MP (Thanet North), galerj@parliament.uk
Rt Hon Cheryl GILLAN MP (Chesham and Amersham), cheryl.gillan.mp@parliament.uk
Ian LIDDELL-GRAINGER MP (Bridgwater and West Somerset), ian.liddellgrainger.mp@parliament.uk
Robert NEILL MP (Bromley and Chislehurst), neillb@parliament.uk
Robert WALTER MP (North Dorset), robert.walter.mp@parliament.uk
Angela WATKINSON MP (Hornchurch and Upminster), watkinsona@parliament.uk
Baroness BUSCOMBE, buscombep@parliament.uk
The Earl of DUNDEE, dundeea@parliament.uk
Baroness EATON (Bradford Metropolitan District Councillor), eatonm@parliament.uk
Viscountess ECCLES, ecclesd@parliament.uk
Baroness WILCOX, wilcoxj@parliament.uk

Michael CONNARTY MP (Linlithgow and Falkirk East), michael.connarty.mp@parliament.uk
Geraint DAVIES MP (Swansea West), geraint.davies.mp@parliament.uk
Jim DOBBIN MP (Heywood and Middleton), jim.dobbin.mp@parliament.uk
Paul FLYNN MP (Newport West), paul.flynn.mp@parliament.uk
Jim HOOD MP (Lanark & Hamilton East), jimmy.hood.mp@parliament.uk
Sandra OSBORNE MP (Ayr Carrick & Cumnock), sandra.osborne.mp@parliament.uk
Linda RIORDAN MP (Halifax), riordanl@parliament.uk
Virendra SHARMA MP (Ealing Southall), virendra.sharma.mp@parliament.uk
Jim SHERIDAN MP (Paisley and Renfrewshire North), jim.sheridan.mp@parliament.uk
Lord ANDERSON (formerly MP for Monmouth, and Swansea East), trotmang@parliament.uk
Lord PRESCOTT (formerly MP for Hull East), prescottj@parliament.uk
Lord TOMLINSON (formerly MP for Meriden), tomlinsonj@parliament.uk

Liberal Democrat
Rt Hon Charles KENNEDY MP (Ross, Skye & Lochaber), charles.kennedy.mp@parliament.uk
Baroness NICHOLSON (formerly MP for Torridge and West Devon), nicholsone@parliament.uk

Mike HANCOCK MP (Portsmouth South), mike.hancock.mp@parliament.uk

No comments:

Post a Comment